May 08, 2023

OCF Adds New Board Chair and Prominent Women Leaders to Chart Statewide Growth

Oregon Community Foundation (OCF) Board of Directors has elected Lane Shetterly as the Foundation’s next Board Chair and added three additional prominent leaders from across the state to the board. These new board leaders bring extensive experience in communications, economic development, legal, public policy, technology and workforce expertise to their roles.

Board Chair Lane Shetterly is currently of counsel with the law firm Sherman, Sherman, Johnnie & Hoyt in Dallas, Oregon. He served as an Oregon state representative from 1997 to 2004. From 2004 through August 2007, he was the director of the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development.

“I am honored to serve as Board Chair for Oregon Community Foundation. We have such a talented Board of Directors comprised of statewide leaders together with an outstanding chief executive in Lisa Mensah,” said Mr. Shetterly. “With this leadership team, our dedicated staff and generous donors, I am confident — as we celebrate our first half century — that the next 50 years will bring even greater impact for Oregon.”

In addition to serving in various board roles with OCF for seven years, Mr. Shetterly has volunteered his service on several boards of directors of nonprofit organizations in Oregon including Western Oregon University, Oregon Law Center, Foundations for a Better Oregon, Oregon Environmental Council, Salem Health and as chair of the Oregon Law Commission for 21 years.

“Lane is an experienced leader whose expertise, combined with his knowledge of and love for Oregon Community Foundation and for Oregon, will continue to serve the Foundation and our state well during his tenure as Board Chair,” said Kimberly Cooper, Past OCF Board Chair. “Our many donors, nonprofit grantees, volunteers and Oregon communities will continue to enjoy the steady stewardship and inspiring impact that OCF brings in advancing opportunities for all Oregonians.”

Ms. Cooper served as OCF’s Board Chair from 2021 to 2023, overseeing the recruitment and appointment of OCF’s current executive.

Caddy McKeownWith decades of experience working in economic and workforce development and transportation issues, Caddy McKeown will represent the South Coast region on OCF’s board. She is currently engaged in community relations work on behalf of NorthPoint Development where she is principally involved with the development to establish a new container port for the Port of Coos Bay. Ms. McKeown served as a member of the House of Representatives, representing Oregon’s 9th district from 2013 to 2021.

Julie Jones Manning, a retired veteran communications leader with expertise in Julie Manningcommunications, marketing, public relations, and resource development, represents the Southern Willamette Valley region as a new board member. Ms. Manning previously served as vice president for marketing, communications and community health promotion at Samaritan Health Services, a Corvallis-based regional health system comprising hospitals, medical clinics and health plans serving Linn, Benton and Lincoln counties. She retired from Samaritan in 2022 after 37 years with the organization.

New Portland-based board member Monica Enand founded Zapproved, Inc., a cloud-based Monica Enandsoftware provider for corporate legal departments in 2008 and served as its chief executive officer until the sale of the company in January 2023. She brings celebrated business leadership and entrepreneurial experience, with focused expertise around innovation and technology. She received the 2021 executive of the year from the Technology Association of Oregon, the 2018 Sam Blackman Award for Civic Engagement and the 2016 Portland Business Journal Entrepreneur of the Year award.

As OCF welcomes Caddy McKeown, Julie Jones Manning and Monica Enand to their new board roles, the Foundation is also grateful for the significant contributions of outgoing board members Penny Allen, Sabrina Parsons and Carolyn Walker, who have completed their terms of service. The three leaders were recognized for their service at the OCF Annual Meeting on May 5 by outgoing Board Chair Kimberly Cooper and the rest of the board. “The generosity of these leaders’ respective talent, advocacy and leadership has made a profound difference in the lives of thousands of Oregonians,” said Ms. Cooper.